Fun in the AZ desert with a SR91

Hogokansatsukan

Flashlight Enthusiast

Well, as many of you know, I work as a peace officer as well as doing leatherwork.

Yesterday I went out in the desert for an evening shoot with a coupleof my friends, and these outings are usually followed by a night hike of somekind. I find it a great excuse to bring some lights along, and so I had packedup my SR91 and S12 just for fun. We decided to go hiking through a wash thatled to a bridge over I-10. The area is known for illegal immigrants coming upfrom Mexico, and is a big drug running corridor, but then, most of the deserthere in AZ is known for that.

Now, the reason we picked this particular bridge as our destination, is thatit covered with graffiti underneath. Not the typical graffiti one sees, butmurals that are quite interesting, and indeed took someone with a lot ofartistic talent to create (let's hope they put that talent to legitimatepurposes later in life.)

So off we go, rather well armed, for our night hike. We are not quiet whenhiking and talk and light things up as we go. Well, as we were about 150 yardsfrom the bridge, I light it up with the 1500 lumen SR91 turning it intodaylight. We are in the wash and looking at the underside of the bridge. Wecontinue to approach, and I have the S12 in one hand lighting up part of thebridge, while using the SR91 in the other to look down the wash. My friends,while not equipped with light canons like myself, used their lights to checkthe sides of the wash, and we noticed a chair, backpack, and bottle of VitaminWater (full) by the chair. I figured it was not illegal's from the vitaminwater and they don't generally pack a chair with them.