Received my new Fenix E15 today

dmattaponi

Enlightened
E15 arrived today. First impressions are okay, not great. I'm looking forward to trying it out tonight in lower light conditions. I'm a flashlight newbie really, but my amateurish description of the light is that it appears to be a non-orange peel reflector with a nicely centered LED. The beam is okay, with no holes, but it has some areas that appear a little darker or more solid than others. The beam is not as "floody" as my 4Sevens CR2, Mini 123, or Fenix P1D. The hotspot is slightly irregular meaning not perfectly round, but not much different in shape than the other lights mentioned. Light is a nice white color. In the daylight it appears more natural than the S2 Mini123, and a little whiter than the R5 CR2. I think the Q5 on the P1D is ever so slightly bluer. The E15 reminds me of a fat and short E01 with the same type of male threaded head, but in brass. I would rather it have an old-fashioned spring in the battery case, but it appears to have some strange looking "leaf"springs in there. I don't know if it's because of the fresh battery, but even though this light is rated at less lumens than the other lights I've mentioned above, the E15 appears to be at least as bright as the others in even some of the higher 180 lumen settings. The lens makes it somewhat hard to see the LED as it kinda distorts what you are seeing. I'll get around to some pictures maybe tomorrow if anyone is interested, but for now I think this light will replace my others as my primary EDC. I like the first twist 75lumen, followed by the long lasting (30hrs) 10lumen setting. I have a hard time telling the 75 and 140 lumens apart from the 180+ lumens of the other lights. Cosmetically, one thing that I don't like is that the Fenix logo on this light is not nicely done. It is dark, and the F has a darker line (looks like a scratch) going through it. Not nearly as nicely labeled as my other Fenix lights, but maybe that is just my example