Why aren't there more dedicated handgun mounted flashlights?

KracknCorn

Newly Enlightened
I'm pretty new to this flashlight scene and it's surprising me that there are literally hundreds of high quality flashlights from dozens of different manufacturers. My question is, why aren't there more lights like the Surefire X300, Insight M6, and the Streamlight TLR series? As a gun collector, I'd be very interested in new more powerful flashlights for my guns. As I'm sure that millions of other gun collectors, airsofters, police and military would be. Is the market too small? Are there regulations on importing such lights? Just seems like an untapped market to me.

Mdinana

Enlightened
I would assume b/c most manufacturers are in Asia? Ie, smaller market in general.

I also assume that even in the US, there's not a HUGE market for those lights. Plus, given size constraints, there's only so much you can do with the battery options available.

Xacto

Enlightened
Not sure about other countries, but dedicated gunlights are illegal in germany and would be pretty useless anyway because of strict gun laws. Why spend money on R&D for a product that has less sale potential than a regular flashlight with a 1" body that can be mounted just as easily.

Cheers
Thorsten

PCC

Flashlight Enthusiast