Looking for new EDC to replace SureFire U2.

z96Cobra

Enlightened
Been away from the forums for awhile and needing some input. I've been EDCing my SureFire U2 for about 4-5 years now and I'm looking for something to possibly replace it. I'm looking for.....

• Similar in overall size to SF U2
  • Multiple Levels
  • Lots of throw and some spill (no aspheric)
  • Bezel down carry would be preferred
  • Brighter than my U2
  • Prefer CR123s but 18650 will be considered

I live out in the sticks, so I prefer lots of throw with moderate spill. I still feel like my U2 is the almost perfect light but I'd like more power/throw. What do you recommend?

iapyx

Enlightened
wait for Show Show 2012 and see if SF comes with a replacement for the U2.
I've read on this forum that SF is probably busy with it. I'd be about time.

Vox Clamatis in Deserto

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have bought several U2's and have given a couple away to family members. They have been available for very good prices new in the box online in recent months. I was just admiring a recently purchased model last night when I got home from a trip. Classic light, great beam but the venerable SSC P4 emitter could sure use an upgrade in my opinion.

The HDS Rotary will fit many of your specs, it is both dimmer and brighter than the U2 and runs great on CR123A's and RCR123's. It is smaller than the U2 and single cell in the stock configuration.

Waiting for SF to upgrade a light is often an exercise in futility from my experience, I wouldn't hold my breath. Been there, done that.:) However, there were some XP-G modded U2's on the market not long ago, that might be an option.

Like you, I also live out in the sticks. It's great to see the Milky Way while you walk with the light on a dim setting. And then turn the light up bright to see several deer and a possum in a field as I did a few hours ago.

stallion2

Enlightened