OT? Tubes and threads

koala

Flashlight Enthusiast
To all metalman,
I am going to visit my dad very soon. I remember he has a few sets of tap dies, hand threader. He uses them to do plumbing around the house. Yeah he's big time diy too bad he doesn't own a lathe /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif. Mayhe I can talk him into buying one. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/naughty.gif

I am wondering if these stuff can be used to create tube bodies for my surefire and arc? I know it has something to do with thread pitch. Maybe I should give my dad a call. I am really new to this, anyone?

Vince.

Doug Owen

Flashlight Enthusiast
Not the same sort of threads. Pipe threads are coarse and taper (it's smaller at the open end than 'the pipe end' in outside diameter).

Not useful unless you make your own flashlight from scratch using pipe threads on both sides.

Doug Owen

McGizmo

Flashaholic
Doug is right and it even gets worse. Your dad probably has tapered pipe thread tools. I believe there are metric sizes as well as what we use here in the states. We have NPT standard which I believe stands for National Pipe Tapered. We also see NPS threads, often used in electrical assemblies like lamp parts. NPS is National Pipe Straight. The pitch and nominal diameter is the same but the diameter is straight instead of tapered. It can be confusing as heck especially when the "size" of these pipe threads has no bearing on actual dimensions.

- Don

koala

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am not sure what you all are talking about smaller ends and etc but you guys are right about it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif. I called my dad, he did told me something about NPT and he told me the threading is totally different from the pipes. He use his ARCLSH I gave to him to compare the threads.

Oh well, there goes my plan of making my own LiIon tube. Looks like I have to pay a visit to my friend at the metal shop.

Vince.

Steelwolf

Flashlight Enthusiast