HDS or Zebralight? Battle of High CRIs, help me choose!

woodentsick

Enlightened
Hey all,

I never thought I'd be choosing between these two lights, but here goes.

Should I buy the Zebralight SC51c or HDS High CRI Rotary (when it comes out)? This light is for EDC and for use while hiking. (Yes, I already have a headlamp :D)
Please do not factor the cost into your comparison/recommendation, but please do understand that I can only buy one of these lights.

The main characteristics I am concerned about are:

-Weight AND Size
-Ease of carry (I love clips)
-Quality of light (I like warmer tints and higher CRI's)

Ultimately, does the Rotary's (significant?) added weight and size justify its advantages?

PS I already have a ZL SC51w, so is the SC51c significantly different?

Thanks,
Woodentsick

SuLyMaN

Enlightened
Im no expert in lights but by quality of lights I suppose the OP didnot really mean build quality.
"-Quality of light (I like warmer tints and higher CRI's)"
It has more to do with the tint of the light :) And yes, tint wise, I'm also interested to know which is better!

Z-Tab

Enlightened
Nobody knows what emitter Henry is going to use when he finally releases his High-CRI Rotary. This question cannot be answered until that information is available.

woodentsick

Enlightened
Sulyman, you are right, I mean the quality of the beam :)

Z-Tab, I'm pretty sure it was confirmed Henry's using the XP-G :)

However, my primary focus is the size, weight and ease of carry.

Z-Tab

Enlightened