10W HID- from Mal Lighting (Germany)

JoelSim

Newly Enlightened
Hi folks,

Well this is my first post here and I'm after some advice.

I have recently acquired a 10W HID made by Mal Lighting;

Link here if anyone wants to check out the specs and so on:
http://www.mal-lighting.com/html/tanklamps.html

It's running from a 12V 2.3aH battery, but when turning it on from a fully charged battery a get a little light and then nothing.

Upon performing some checks, at the battery I have more or less 12V, at the switch I have the same but then at the contacts for the lamp I have only 3.04V.

I am a little new to all of this, but from this diagnoses is it a reasonably safe bet to say that the driver is my issue?

It is not a new light, so I'm not too bummed about the issues with it, plus it gives me the opportunity to have a bit of a play :) I was already considering an LED upgrade (inspired by Packhorse) for the light before I even purchased it so we'll see what happens.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Joel.

Dashrynn

Newly Enlightened
I haven't dealt with sla batteries in awhile but, I believe your voltage should read around 13 volts when fresh off the charger.

As for testing your post's, it sounds like you are testing the voltage where the bulb goes...correct?

As for that battery, I would replace it with a lithium type, I prefer lifepo4 for the long life and safer chemistry. But it seems your voltage range isn't very wide so you should probably stick with li-ion (11.1v). This is if you keep the hid, if you need to change the ballast there is a post i have in the dive forum...somewhere... that shows you where the parts are and what they are.

The hid ballast I posted is a 14 watt hid putting out 1000 lumens. Reason I kept the hid is my lights a focusable type.

Packhorse

Flashlight Enthusiast
I currently have here a DR 10wHID to LED conversion I did a few years ago. The owner was complaining the LED was flickering.