I just wanted to check CPF.

bansuri

Enlightened
Amazing what lengths of CYA companies have to go to just to let you use their wifi for a few minutes.
Stopped at Starbucks for a rare treat, thought I'd check the TERMS before clicking I AGREE, decided against reading it for lack of time

EZO

Flashlight Enthusiast
It is astonishing to see the kind of abuses that are hidden in ISP and similar user agreements. At one time I used Verizon for internet access, but no more!

After I indulged the time and effort to carefully read the Verizon Terms of Service I discovered a clause that most people are completely unaware of.

Most ISPs offer some free directory space for their customers. Some folks use this space for hosting a simple web site. As a photographer I used mine to upload jobs into directory folders that I could give clients access to so they could peruse the images from a particular project or download final versions for their use. These were never published openly on the internet, it was just for the convenience of my clients.

Using an Orwellian form of doublespeak Verizon states that they do not claim ownership of anything you upload to their servers, BUT you are granting them an irrevocable, permanent license to use your material for whatever purpose they want!

I called Verizon to get some clarification and spoke to several customer service representatives who at first denied this or at least sounded skeptical regarding my inquiries. Each time I directed them to the exact clause in the UA I was questioning and each time I got the exact same reaction, a long pause and then.........Huh? Then they sounded a little sheepish and apologetic but said they didn't really know about this.