First approach to "serious" flashlights' world, first buy

ildiopantofola

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, I'm totally new to this "world", I even didn't know that there were so many flashlights and certain amazing ones! During these days I've read quite a lot on the Internet because I'm an amateur photographer and I love urbex so I want a nice flashlight.

I'm looking for a light that:

1. has a LED light (better if neutral white)
  2. has a good output (I don't really know how much are 200 lumens but I think around 180/200 lumens should be enough)
  3. uses AA rechargeable batteries (i don't really care about dimensions so till 4 AA should be ok)
  4. has the adjustable focus
  5. is rain proof, i mean I don't need to submerge it but that can be used in a quite heavy rain
Ok I know this is a lot of requests! On the net I saw two models that I'm interested in:

- Led Lenser P5/P14/M14 : the P5 has only 100 lumens output and I don't know if that's enough the P14/M14 are ok but the M14 is smaller
- Fenix E20, this is a nice torch, but here too not so much output (nice accessories :) )

The best for me should be a Led lenser M14 because of the really nice focus that could be useful in photography but only if I'm sure it is really heavy rain proof.

Thank you very much in advance for the help! :)

Sandro

Derek Dean

Flashlight Enthusiast
Howdy Sandro and welcome to CPF,

There are MANY lights that fit in the general range you have suggested. After looking at the HJK review of the Led Lenser M14, there were a few issues that bothered me, but still interesting if you desire a focusable beam. I tend to prefer fixed focus, but that's me.
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?299159-Led-Lenser-M14-4xAA-with-focus-adjustment

First, you'll want to become familiar with rechargeable batteries. Here is a good resource for that:
Battery University:
http://batteryuniversity.com/