Sunwayman & Li-Ions

dst

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys- I have a Sunwayman V10R Ti light & AA adaptor- love this light! It's working voltage is rated at 0.9 to 4.2V. I'm new to these specialized Li-Ion batteries, but I've gone through enough forum posts to know that they can pack a wallop. I popped in an AW14500P and the light got very hot very quickly! :sick:

My question is- is it safe to use a rechargeable 14500 or RCR123a protected Li-Ion battery in this light, and more importantly, will using either of these batteries harm the flashlight in any way? :grin2:

RBWNY

Enlightened
Welcome to CPF :welcome: Now take 2 steps back!!

If I'm understanding what you're saying........ you have a V10R which uses ONE CR123, but you have a AA extension tube?... which would almost transform it into a V10A!!

Well, I have both lights. In the V10R I've been mainly using primaries (CR123). But in the V10A, I found 1 AA not to be bright enough, so I always use a 14500. Mind you with that configuration, it DOES get pretty warm when jacked up to high and left for a few moments. I can't see that any harm is coming to either the cell or the light since heat is a main function on many lights when pushed into high lumen mode.

So again, you're using a V10R with the option of having EITHER a 123 OR a 14500?

And in part 2 of your question, there'd be no issue using an RCR (16340) either. :thumbsup:

dst

Newly Enlightened
Hi RBWNY- Thanks for the reply! :)

Yes- I have the V10R Ti which takes one CR123. I also got the AA extension tube so I'd have some versatility with battery options in a pinch, although I prefer using the smaller/brighter CR123 configuration.

The light works fine with CR123 primaries (rated at 210 lumens), and with standard AA's, although as you note, it only gives 140 lumens with a standard AA.:candle: