How Do You Return Gmail to Basic HTML Permanently?

LEDAdd1ct

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been using Gmail for a few years now, strictly in the Basic HTML mode. It is clean, it is without clutter, and its inherent simplicity is ideal. When Yahoo! Mail tried to force a change, I found out how to get it to stay in its own "Classic" mode.

While checking my Gmail email a short while ago, I needed to view the header of an email, and I read that you had to switch to the standard view in order to see this information. I switched, and was able to find the information I sought. However, I am now confounded: I cannot find a setting to switch back to Basic HTML, and it is extremely frustrating. The previous setting which locked it to "Basic HTML" mode was not dependent upon a cookie, because it stuck across computers, browsers, and operating systems. I cannot believe that by clicking the "standard" link I have somehow permanently and irreversibly condemned myself to using the complex and in your face UI of the "new" Gmail.

Please, fellow CPF'ers:

Does anyone know how to return Gmail to its "Basic HTML" mode, and make it stick, across browsers, across operating systems, across computers?

:confused:

LEDAdd1ct

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi, brembo, and thank you for your help.

When I click the link, it allows me to log in, for that session only, to Basic HTML. However, it does not provide an option to permanently return Gmail to "Basic HTML," and make it stick, across browsers, across operating systems and across computers.

brembo

Enlightened
It says "Set HTML as default" or the like, it's a hyperlink. Want me to get a screenshot of it?

LEDAdd1ct

Flashlight Enthusiast
I can't find the link. I am trying on Firefox 3.6.8 on one computer, and on IE 6.0 on another machine.

That link is the very object of my search, and I cannot seem to produce it.

brembo

Enlightened
Chrome, that might be why as it likely plays better with Gmail.

LEDAdd1ct

Flashlight Enthusiast