Paramedic looking for a light around $100 or less.

NYMedic828

Newly Enlightened
I work as a medic in NY city and for the past 2 years I have used an EagleTac T100C2 (first generation) and a few months ago it decided it didn't want to work anymore.

The criteria for the light I am looking for is

$100 or less
5.5" Long or less
Takes 18650 batteries
200-300+ Lumens
Strobe Feature if possible.
Tactical style

I was looking into the Fenix PD31 but apparently there is now talk of a PD32 which really looks perfect for me but it could be months until its release...

So throw all suggestions at me please! Open to anything at this point.

I am also looking for a rugged nylon case. The case that was with my EagleTac light was garbage and felt like I was gonna lose my light.

Last edited:

energythoughts

Newly Enlightened
Re: Looking to get a new light. Thining Fenix PD30R5 or PD31

I have the PD31, and although I don't own the PD30, comparing the specs it does seem to be a worthy upgrade. the PD31 has a higher high and lower low than the PD30. I'm very happy with the PD31. the output is great, and has a good balance of spot and flood with good run times. It's built very solid and I wouldn't hesitate to use it in any environment. The holster is Velcro, but it's very durable and versatile.

One thing you might want to consider first.. it looks like the PD32 will be out very soon. Fenix has the information up on their website now. http://www.fenixlight.com/viewproduct.asp?id=153 For your line of work you may be interested in the tactical / momentary on function which the PD30 & PD31 don't have. also the PD32 has a mode selector in the head, so potentially it might be faster to access the strobe mode.

The PD32 is a bit longer than the PD31 & PD30, but doesn't seem too big.

Not sure you tail stand a light in your line of work but the PD32 won't tail stand where the PD31 and PD30 will.

Hope this helps.

fivebyfive

Enlightened

Hey NYMedic828,