Fenix E01 and Steel Wool

Howie

Newly Enlightened
Hi. I'm a newbie and new to the forums. I bought 3 Fenix E01s. One of them has a nasty purple tint and another has a slight blue tint. I used steel wool to sand them down and it has made the lights into a nice floody beam. However, they have lost some brightness. I have a third E01 which I have currently left as is because it was the best one out of the box. Compared to the sanded ones it is brighter because it still has a bright spot. I'm trying to decide whether to sand that down as well or just keep it as is. So my question is do you do the steel wool modification to all your E01s? I find the sanded down beam to be nicer but since I have two sanded down I'm thinking of keeping the third as is for times when I want a hotspot.

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, Howie. Lots of folks have done the sanding trick, too. I think I'd keep the third light stock. Stay around here for long you'll be adding some new lights soon.

Geoff

ragweed

Enlightened
I have an E01 that really isn't too bad beam wise. The 2nd one was real angry blue purple. I used a plain old SOS pad on the bulb on that one & am very happy I did. It is now a very nice flood light beam.

Streamer

Enlightened
I used OOOO steel wool on two of my four E01's. Kept the other two stock.
Since the sanded ones are floodier they will seem dimmer coz the light is spread over a larger area. I like the hot spot when I need it.

ragweed

Enlightened
I have an E01 that really isn't too bad beam wise. The 2nd one was real angry blue purple. I used a plain old SOS pad on the bulb on that one & am very happy I did. It is now a very nice flood light beam.

Harry999

Enlightened
I finally carried out this mod as well on 2 EO1s I have around. It is very pleasing. I had many more EO1s but they have been lost or given away. I am considering getting a few more and using this mod on pay day at the end of the month.

Blue72

Flashlight Enthusiast