Help Me Find a Flaslight That Actually Fits My Usage

williaty

Newly Enlightened
OK, I'm definitely into good lighting, but not into flashlights as much, which is why I need the community wisdom here.

I'm an automotive mechanic. 99% of my lighting needs are covered with a headlamp. However, there's some things I do on a regular basis for which a headlight held in the hand isn't really suitable and/or I've already got something on my head that precludes wearing a headlamp. I bought a Streamlight MicroStream last week based off of the reviews here on CPF and I hate it. It's exactly what I don't need. The hot spot is so hot that it blinds me and the area around the hot spot is so dim as to be useless. I think if the total number of photons were diffused throughout the beam, it might be about right, but then it also might be a little dim. I've also got a Fenix LD20+ and a Romesien RC-N3 that I use for cycling. I haven't tried the RC-N3 for car work, but I have tried the LD20+. The beam on the LD20+ is almost ok. Just a little wider hot spot and it'd be perfect. The lowest and next-to-lowest brightness levels are also correct for what I need to do. However, the thing overall is too big and too expensive for what I want it to do. It's too long and won't fit some of the places I need it to go and the weight plus length makes it really difficult to hold in my mouth and aim with my lips.

The form factor of the MicroStream is basically perfect. Small enough to put in my mouth, drop in a pocket and not wish I hadn't, and will fit everywhere I need it to. The price is also right! The beam is just terrible. The LD20+ has a better beam (though not perfect) and more useful brightness, but it's too big and heavy. So I guess I am saying I'm looking for a 1xAAA flashlight with a fairly wide beam?

Any suggestions?

williaty

Newly Enlightened