Fenix LD20 R5 Beam Question

Dark Prong

Newly Enlightened
Hello, newbie here with a question. I recently purchased an LD20 (R5). I really like the build quality, and the light itself. One thing I am curious about is the beam profile.

There is a small, perfectly centered and shaped , round dimmer area in the very center of the beam. Maybe it is 10% of the main beam diameter. I've seen one or two beamshot pictures of this version that don't show this - though it may be difficult for a camera to pick this up due to brightness. This version has a smooth reflector (no dimples) which may be causing this somewhat due to focusing/chip mounting/etc.

I'm just curious if this is a defect with this particular light, or is it normal. If it's normal I am OK with it, though I don't have anything to judge it against.

Any thoughts from others who have this version of the LD20?

JacobJones

Enlightened
There was a thread about this a couple of weeks ago. It seems that this is very common, most people do have a hole of some sort, some people have a really bad dark donut hole, mine only had a slightly dimmer patch in the middle of the beam, and some really lucky people got a proper hotspot with no hole. If it bothers you return it to the dealer

Woods Walker

The Wood is cut, The Bacon is cooked, Now it’s tim
Don't worry about it. In no way would that be an issue in real world use. I have some with a donut hole and others without. Once away from a white wall they all look the same.

tre

Flashlight Enthusiast
It does have donut hole. I find that it really bothers me in real world use. At this point, I sell or send back any lights that have noticable donut hole. It seems most manufacturers have figured a way around this isue with OP reflectors and better designed reflectors because I have purchased only one light with donut hole in the last 6 months or so (A Thrunite Neutron with the newly redesigned reflector that now has the worst beam I've ever seen).

johnnygraphic