Anyone overdriving their Jetbeam bc10 with an rcr123?

Kenaz

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I read that you can use an rcr123 in the jetbeam-bc10 and get over 400 lumens from it. I tried it and it certainly works. I also read that it is unsafe and sucks the battery dead in 12minutes. My question is, is anyone running their light like this and what are your thoughts? What are your runtimes? Any safety issues detected? Also, if this is unsafe, what could the danger be, could the battery actually explode from this?

JohnnyBravo

Enlightened
I've been using a 14500 in a BA10 for a few months now, and it's fine. I'm about to order a BC10 and use some AW IMR 16340s in it. I've contacted JB, JBUSA, and even Cree. They all say the XPGR5 can handle a battery w/ 4.22 volts off the charger just fine. I'm not concerned w/ runtime in my small EDCs. For serious runtime needs, I use either my Maglite 2D LED or LifeGear 3C.

davyro

Enlightened
I have a bc10 & I've never ran it on a RCR123a but after reading the last thread by JohnnyBravo saying he's been in touch with JB & Cree & that they've okayed
the use of a RCR123a i will try it tonight & get back to you with my opinion & observations.

offthetrail

Newly Enlightened
Read selfbuilts review of the BC10. Battery discharge rate on a rcr123 is around 5C, which is extremely dangerous. This is not a good idea at all. An IMR cell would be ok, but it easy to overdisharge since it would be non-protected. Be careful.

davyro

Enlightened
I tried one of my AW RCR123a's in my bc10 & it wouldn't turn on.So for me that was a bad sign so i took it straight out
& i'll not be trying it again.:thumbsdow

JohnnyBravo

Enlightened
I tried one of my AW RCR123a's in my bc10 & it wouldn't turn on.So for me that was a bad sign so i took it straight out
& i'll not be trying it again.:thumbsdow