need a new light for my police duty belt

boxerdog23

Newly Enlightened
My first jetbeam m broke and my second was lost. It was a great light in terms of its size...but I had some issues with it running well...time for a new one....must fit on my duty belt...needs to be bright I make on average 80 plus traffic stops a month....I will be getting a larger light latter...thinking about olight m21

DWood

Newly Enlightened
As a firefighter, my lighting needs are different than a police officers. That said, I do a lot of firearms training and I am familiar with the need for weapon lights. First question, do you carry and/or are you allowed a pistol mounted light? If so, Surefire X-300, hands down, is your best option for power and reliability on a handgun.

If so (allowed pistol mounted light), the light on my belt would be a thrower with a medium rating of 250+ lumens, like the Olight SR 51 I just got. 240 on low and 900 on high, with rechargeble AW 18650s 2900 mah rock. 240 is your working light with 900 available for wide area searches. Anyway, that's my input.

k9hutch

Newly Enlightened
Thrunite TN11...one or two x 18650 batteries, bright, bright , bright, and a quick turn of the head gets you a strobe. My second belt light is an Olight i6 Paladin with a Surefire grip ring. Weapon light is a Surefire X300 with a DG-12 pressure switch. Lastly, the pocket/backup light is a Jetbeam BA20. Inexpensive and bright.

I went through the spectrum of lights (Malkoffs, Surefire, etc...) before settling down with this group. I have throw/brightness and the strobe feature for the occasional wreck. My guys have gone out and purchased a bunch of the BA20s after seeing how bright it is and it is relatively inexpensive.

madecov

Flashlight Enthusiast