Looking for a solution to woweful Fire Fighter torches...

krazykev

Newly Enlightened
Hi Guys. I'm a firefighter in the UK, looking for a better solution than currently available to us..

We're personally issued with the following torches http://www.wolf-safety.co.uk/torches/atex_torch/ (the 90 degree head, fillament bulb version)

To be honest, they're poor, you always find yourself taking the rechargable box lamps from the appliance if you want anything half decent, personal torches never get used..

I've purchased a second torch so i can start modifying.

My plans we're to convert from 2D cells, to either 6 AA Ni-Mh or 2 Li-Ion batteries. I was going to see if i can completely remove the reflector assembly and replace with a new reflector and high power LED.

What's people's thoughts / suggestions? I'm open to ideas :)

** I wrote this about 3 hours ago and sods law got a callout before i could hit send lol.

Thanks

krazykev

Newly Enlightened
Hi, Thanks for that...

I'd prefer to modify a current issue torch so it visually looks the same, i think questions may be asked if it looks different to everyone elses torches...

To be honest, we carry Ex torches, but the radios we use aren't safe for gaseous environments and my current torch has a crack in the battery housing anyway.

Thanks for your input..

The_bad_Frag

Enlightened
Sadly its a plastic torch so you wont be able to have a real high power light. I think around 2 watts is the max in a plastic body without active cooling and venting holes.

The best would be to simply replace the bulb with a brighter one.

StarHalo

Flashaholic
Fair enough; if your light uses the standard PR-based bulb, as found in Maglites, you can swap it out with a TerraLux Ministar and it will match the output of the aforementioned Streamlight, without changing the battery config.

vickers214

Enlightened