Newbie here! 3 Cell bulb question?

givemebreak

Newly Enlightened
Hello,
I just wanted to let you know I am really finding some cool stuff here on this site. I found it about 5 days ago.
Keep up the good work!

My question is.... Will a 3 Cell Maglite Krypton bulb run with 4AA's without burning it out?

Thank you and will I will be sticking around...good stuff here!

jayflash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Warning! This is a guess...this is only a guess! You will now be returned to abnormal programming.

Using rechargeables or alkalines in good condition will shorten the lamp's life but it will be brighter. Alky AA's voltage & current will sag more so the lamp may not burn out quite as quickly...but the higher, initial, power of new batteries may be too much. In either case run-time will be less with AA cells.

Run the test yourself and tell us what happens. No better way to get your feet wet, here, at CPF. WELCOME, givemeabreak.

IlluminatingBikr

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

I would think that a three cell krypton bulb should work with 4 AA's. If you want something even brighter than that, try checking out some xenon bulbs.

givemebreak

Newly Enlightened
Thank you!
I am trying it as we speak!
I have a Dorcy Solid State single LED that I bought last year.
Im bored with it...not so bright.
I took my 3C battery Maglite bulb and threw it in there.
MY LORD! Almost knocked me over!

I just bought a Streamlight Twintask for $36 shipped and will be here tomorrow.
I'm done for, arn't I? This is how it all starts eh? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

I also took my Mini mag and put a single red led in and opened the reflector to make it fit.... very cool!
I also can't live without my Blue photon 3

givemebreak

Newly Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
IlluminatingBikr said:
f you want something even brighter than that, try checking out some xenon bulbs.

[/ QUOTE ]

Says Home Depot has them....I'm OFF!