jetbeam rrt-0 should i choose xm-l or s2 ?

InquisitiveInquirer

Enlightened
When i first bought lights, i wanted the brightest. After couple years, i now find myself wanting the lowest. I've heard the surefire titan is the lowest, but due to the price, i find it too prohibitive to purchase. As such, the next best thing (as i see it anyways for a single AA light) is either jetbeam RRT-0, IFE1 and Neutron 1. From the 3 i've listed, i think i've chosen RRT-0 (unless you guys can convince me otherwise with contenders!). However, i'm wondering what to LED to choose for the RRT-0. I'm leaning toward S2 over XM-L as it has a lower low and a higher high. How's the beam comparison between the two though? Anyone have beamshots? Thanks for your opinions in advance! Cheers.

Quelalumieresoit

Newly Enlightened
Bonjour.
Greetings from BELGIUM.
I own the S2 version.
I've been using it for two months or so.
Great little light. Very bright and very low-low, too!
One downside, though: the well known pre-flash issue...
When you click it on with the ring on a lower level position, you get a short -but visible- full brightness flash ...
This ruins your night adapted vision and/or your position!
One way to deal with this : you click on, set the ring on "Stand by" position and after you have full access to all levels without the flash. Just remember that the parasitic drain is important and won't give you more then 100 hours (or so) runtime.
I don't know if this issue has been fixed on the XML version.
I hope this help.

PS. As usual, please keep in mind that I'm French speaker...

InquisitiveInquirer

Enlightened
No way... preflash? I thought this was only a 4sevens quark problem. I didn't know that! Hmmmmmmm seriously have to reconsider. Is the parasitic drain that bad? Can you lockout the tailcap?

BTW, Your english is very goood!

peterharvey73

Flashlight Enthusiast
The "pre-flash" is a manufacturing fault.
Please email Jetbeam, and have it repaired under warranty.