LED/battery upgrade for Costco 3AAA (pics)

Cooper_GTI

Newly Enlightened
Right, i'm new to all this and don't really have much knowledge on this subject, but here goes...

I've got a costco Techlite Lumen Master. I'm really impressed with the quality and it's pretty bright (150 lumens claimed).

However, i'd like MORE and being an engineer i want to do this myself!!

...this is where it gets interesting!

I've already 'upgraded' the switch to a simple on/off clicky type, but now i want it to give a longer throw!

Questions:

1) Will installing a 22600 battery alone make the cree XPG brighter due to higher ah?

2) Will the LED cope with the higher ah of the new battery?

3) Which LED (inc board) would be a straight swap for the XPG and give a higher ouput?

4) What is 'direct drive' and how can this be done, as i understand this gives the LED more power?

Go easy on me, as it's a big learning curve, but i'm keen to learn!

2012-01-03223750.jpg

2012-01-03223147.jpg

2012-01-03223215.jpg

cobracon

Newly Enlightened
hey cooper
i can't offer any help because i'm new here, but i like ur style. i've got an unopened package of these that i was thinking of returning, but now u've peaked my interest, let me know if u get anywhere.

GaAslamp

Enlightened
Right, i'm new to all this and don't really have much knowledge on this subject, but here goes...

Well, you gotta start somewhere. You may get more assistance in the Custom & Modified Flashlights section, however.

And since you're using Li-ion batteries, you'll want to learn as much as you can about how to safely use them--check out this forum (and sub-forums):
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?9-Flashlight-Electronics-Batteries-Included

1) Will installing a 22600 battery alone make the cree XPG brighter due to higher ah?