Fenix TK70 in 3 Cell Config

clarkeeuk99

Newly Enlightened
Hi All,

As I'm sure some of you know, the Fenix TK70 is capable of running in a 3 D cell config.

Now I understand that the torch cannot sustain Turbo mode for long without 4 Cells, but is it likely to be able to run consistently in high mode? Also, is the fact that they don't even state in the manual that it can run in 3 Cell config because it could cause damage to the batteries or something?

Thanks,
Phil.

syntax

Newly Enlightened
From what I've read it sounds like the TK70 will run just fine with 3Ds. However, obviously it won't hold turbo mode. I have mine on order and plan to run it in 3D config once I find 2 good 32600 li-ion protected cells and a spacer.

JudasD

Enlightened
i'm new to CPF. Came here trying to find the best OMG light. I think i am going to snag a tk70 as well and run the two 32600 configuration. the question i have is if you do run the 3D config will you be allowed to cycle between all of the modes? if you are in Hi and want to get to low you need to go through turbo first. If you batteries are low this would keep you stuck in Hi-mode correct?

Thanks,
JD

shipwreck

Enlightened
I love my TK70, but I ordered it with 4 D rechargables and a charger. I've never tried running it in 3D mode. Really have had no reason to

357mag1

Enlightened
I tried both of my TK70s in the 3 cell mode. They appear to work and cycle through all 4 modes but both had a high whine coming from the electronics. I decided that couldn't be good for it and went back to the 4 cell mode on one and 5 cell on the other. 5 cells drops the current low enough to give over 2 hours of runtime (theoretically, not tested).

I have run two 32700 Li-Ion cells and a spacer in both lights and both lights functioned fine. I've used two 26650 IMR and LiPo4 cells which worked fine as well.