QTC Flashlights - Any problems in real world use?

Torchaddict

Newly Enlightened
Noob here. Stumbled across QTC lights such as the ones by Peak and Kuku and I'm wondering if anyone here has had first hand experience on the reliability of such things.

Mainly looking for the cons for QTC tech such as if the material wears out quickly/gets sticky/breaks down/etc. And would like to know if people prefer the infinite variable UI (just the concept) or would rather just prefer distinct modes (McGizmos piston drive) for a twisty/momentary switch combo. I'm thinking about maybe making custom lights in the future.

Loomin

Newly Enlightened
I don't like qtc lights. I haven't tried many of them but that's just my preference. Sometimes after i turn my light off and walk away, a few minutes later it will be back on, very very dim, but back on none the less. I have to remove the head when not in use so i can be sure it won't come back on. Also it only works really well when it's cold. Meaning if i pick it up off the shelf and turn it on slowly it ramps up nicely. But after it's been on for a minutes or so, it loses it's precision. No matter how slowly i tighten the head it seems to go from barely lit to high or max almost instantly.

purelite

Enlightened
I think the pros for QTC is that it is in a sense more reliable since it isnt mechanical and if it does "fail" the light will still work as a high only . Seems like there are many instances of mulitmode mini twisty lights having electronic failures over time.

Its also fun to play with :) and technically the output is infintely variable if you have the patience.

Cons are as mentioned above and also that if you dont do what Peak did and just throw a piece unprotected in your light it will wear out pretty quickly since it is delicate when exposed to twisting/grinding pressure like you get in twisty lights. Peak made a nice pill that protects the QTC in their lights and prolongs its usefull life

Jay R

Flashlight Enthusiast