Imalent        

Thread: Whats the best light for up close use

Default Whats the best light for up close use

I'm a tech and most of the time I am working indoors and upclose. I always felt that a light with a tight bright beam was best. But I have recently been using the fenix E05. Its not as bright but it is very floody and seems to give off an even amount of light to work with. I am finding myself liking the floody light for close up work. Am I going against the grain?

Default Re: Whats the best light for up close use

The Sunwayman V10R XM-L is excellent for up-close. The XM-L is very floody, and the adjustability makes sure you can dial up just the right amount of light.
    "I see the light, drill sergeant!"

like you, i've found the E05 to be about as good a close-up as i've found. a "best-buy". i have one in my pocket as i type...

Yep, the Fenix E05 is tops for that even, floody type of closeup beam, however, don't overlook the possibility of adding diffusion material to a different light to help even out the beam. That way you could have adjustable brightness levels as well.

Flashaholic

Zebralight H501, H501W, H51F, H51FW. The H501(W) will be all flood while the H51F(W) won't be as floody but still nice for up close work.
    FYI- The W denotes warm led (actually its neutral). If it doesn't have the W in the model then its a cool tinted led.
    Last edited by Mikellen; 01-12-2012 at 05:49 AM. Reason: spelling

The ZL H501W is pretty tough to beat. It can be too floody sometimes, but is a great task light with many ways to use/attach.

Quote Originally Posted by sweetlight View Post
    I'm a tech and most of the time I am working indoors and upclose. I always felt that a light with a tight bright beam was best. But I have recently been using the fenix E05. Its not as bright but it is very floody and seems to give off an even amount of light to work with. I am finding myself liking the floody light for close up work. Am I going against the grain?