Whats the best light for up close use

sweetlight

Newly Enlightened
I'm a tech and most of the time I am working indoors and upclose. I always felt that a light with a tight bright beam was best. But I have recently been using the fenix E05. Its not as bright but it is very floody and seems to give off an even amount of light to work with. I am finding myself liking the floody light for close up work. Am I going against the grain?

Tiggercat

Enlightened
The Sunwayman V10R XM-L is excellent for up-close. The XM-L is very floody, and the adjustability makes sure you can dial up just the right amount of light.

coyote

Flashlight Enthusiast
like you, i've found the E05 to be about as good a close-up as i've found. a "best-buy". i have one in my pocket as i type...

Derek Dean

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yep, the Fenix E05 is tops for that even, floody type of closeup beam, however, don't overlook the possibility of adding diffusion material to a different light to help even out the beam. That way you could have adjustable brightness levels as well.

Mikellen

Enlightened
Zebralight H501, H501W, H51F, H51FW. The H501(W) will be all flood while the H51F(W) won't be as floody but still nice for up close work.
FYI- The W denotes warm led (actually its neutral). If it doesn't have the W in the model then its a cool tinted led.

Last edited:

tbenedict

Enlightened
The ZL H501W is pretty tough to beat. It can be too floody sometimes, but is a great task light with many ways to use/attach.

RobertM

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm a tech and most of the time I am working indoors and upclose. I always felt that a light with a tight bright beam was best. But I have recently been using the fenix E05. Its not as bright but it is very floody and seems to give off an even amount of light to work with. I am finding myself liking the floody light for close up work. Am I going against the grain?