Police Officer Backup Flashlight Question/Comparison - Strion LED HP vs Polystinger

vacbanned4

Newly Enlightened
Hey there guys, I'm new to the candlepower forums - thanks for having me.

I'm a police officer and lately I've been researching good backup flashlights. I had a Streamlight Stinger DS LED HP purchased from Botach Tactical which was good, but had to return it because of a bad battery and broken charger. Since then, I've done many hours of research and have been inundated with so much information that I simply can't come to a rational decision - thus I need help from you fine people.

My first question is as follows. Is there are significant difference in the brightness between a Streamlight Strion LED HP, Polystinger DS, or Stinger DS LED HP? I've read the charts, but some people have said the 160 lumen Strion is just as bright, if not brighter, than the much larger 200 lumen Stinger DS LED HP. Is there any credence to this? If so, why would a lower lumen flashlight be capable of throwing out more light than a higher lumen flashlight? Does the battery come into play here? Also, are there any benefits to the Strion LED HP vs the Strion LED?

Secondly, of Lithium Ion and Nickel Cadmium batteries - is it really a bad selection for me to get a polystinger or stinger DS LED HP? I've heard that the nicad batteries are not preferable for long term use and that Lithium Ion is preferred. True? False?

Thirdly, in case I'm just being ignorant (forgive me) I just need help getting a great flashlight that I can use on duty every day and not have to worry about it working every time without a problem. So with that in mind, here is a list of my criteria for my belt mounted backup duty flashlight:

1. Strong, Durable, and Bright. Just as bright as the streamlight polystinger or brighter! Also strong enough to withstand drops and possible blunt force application.
2. Water Resistant or Water Proof.
3. Varying light intensity levels and I'd prefer a strobe feature.