TerraLUX MiniStar31 M-EX LED type?

NigelU211

Newly Enlightened
Does anyone know what kind of LED is used in the TerraLUX MiniStar31 M-EX?

Also, has anyone posted a review of this light?

I wonder how it compares to something like a Fenix TK35?

Thanks,

NigelU211

Newly Enlightened
I was hoping for a quick answer from someone...
After some reading I guess since the new terraLUX MAG charger version is using the XPG LED this probably is to.
Anyone have any idea what will happen if you put this behind an aspherical lens?

Stephen Wallace

Enlightened
Apologies, I didn't see your post from the 26th, or I would have answered. This forum moves fast, and I generally only have time to check the first page of posts.

As you have surmised, the MagD version does indeed use the same LEDs as MagCharger version - XP-Gs.

I have no experience of using aspheric lenses unfortunately, and so cannot comment on that part of your question.

Icbones

Newly Enlightened
I wish I saw these before I ordered the Malkoff ML drop-ins. I know theMiniStar31 M-EX is designed for the 4-6D ML, but on the terralux website they recommend Titaniun inovation 3AA-D conversion kits. These produce 4.5V. I wonder if 3 Li Ion 33600's would be OK? I have also changed my 3-D ML to 4C by inserting a ~9" section of 1" split loom down the maglight tube and this gives a good fit for the C cells. As I found out on this forum, reversing the spring in the original ML tail cap will deal with the longer length of the 4 C cells compared to the 3 D cells. I have the Malkoff glass breaking tail cap, so originally I just sanded off some of the paint and inserted a penny. I later switched to 1 disc magnet, I don't lose it now when I open it up. Anyone order the MiniStar31 M-EX yet?

Last edited:

madcat816

Newly Enlightened