Can the TigerLight be left charging?

Joel

Newly Enlightened
I'm a CPF newbie thinking of purchasing my first TigerLight. I'm pretty absent minded about charging my flashlights. I was wondering if I could leave my TigerLight in the charging cradle? Would it automatically trickle charge, or would I ruin the light? Thanks!

tkl

Flashlight Enthusiast
if i recall, the book that came with my tl said if you're not going to use it over a week remove it from the charger.

brightnorm

Flashaholic
Originally posted by Joel:
I'm a CPF newbie thinking of purchasing my first TigerLight. I'm pretty absent minded about charging my flashlights. I was wondering if I could leave my TigerLight in the charging cradle? Would it automatically trickle charge, or would I ruin the light? Thanks!
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">If I remember correctly, inventor Randy Teig stated he had it on the charger for more than a year with no problem.

General advice: If you want to leave it on charger, "relieve" it at least once weekly either by using it or taking it off charger for a few hours or more. If you use it, don't run it down past noticeable dimming.

Rate of self-discharge is about 1-2% daily so even after a week off charger you should notice only minor dimming.

I leave it "permanently" on charger and relieve it as above.

Brightnorm

binky

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yes, it's meant to be stored in the charger for up to a few days but the instructions say not for weeks.

I also don't have the instruction booklet in front of me and it's not on the Tigerlight.net website, but I recall reading that the reason the NiMH battery type was chosen was so its style of use could be that you'd use the light for a while, stick it back in the charger, then use it some more, etc. This is in line with LEO's having it in their vehicles for nightly use and they wouldn't have to worry about memory effect, overcharging, or anything about the battery except maybe over-discharging.

binky