Am I crazy to sell these Surefire museum pieces?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Genoan

Newly Enlightened
First, This is not a WTS advertisement.

I am a consultant that represented Surefire 5-10 years ago, and have some samples and protos they sent me for business purposes, and never asked to get back. I don't have any relationship now (I do consult for another top sponsor of this site) so I have no sentimental relationship.

I have a EARLY Aviator (white/white) that John Matthews gave me as a gift, across his desk. It had some dings when he gave it to me, and the tailcap contact springs failed (it was replaced under "warranty", fixing most dings).

The gem is a titanium Titan PROTOTYPE. PK gave it to me for certain professional evaluations. It was in my drawer, and I discovered this forum when I realized I had a museum piece. I put it on eBay yesterday, but am tempted to pull the auction if I should simply list it here. It is almost two flashlights (except the second lacks a bezel, and doesn't work). It shows machining marks unlike the limited series of 1000. The proto tailcaps are non-standard. I'm a photographer, and embarrassed by the quality of the photos on ebay, because I didn't realize what I had. I won't post a link because anyone who know how rare a TITANIUM from SUREFIRE is can find it himself.

Me, I'd rather have a dozen great lights from the hot new companies, and let the collectors buy this one for their museum (Or one great light, and some pocket change I can invest in a collectible wristwatch).

Is this newbie insane?

(Incidentally, I can prove to any buyer with public internet records exactly my prior relationship to Surefire, so there will be no doubt as to authenticity).

nbp

Flashaholic
:welcome: