soldering my own led strips need help

sassyness77

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone, I'm hoping you can help me since I am not very experienced with soldering at this level. Also if this is in the wrong spot, please move it and I apologize!

I'm trying to solder about 40 piranha leds together in a strip. 4 of them in parallel and then the groups of 4 in series. But I'm not sure what's the easiest way to connect all the negatives and positives cleanly. Is there some sort of strip I can use to simply tap into and run the length of the entire strip? Because I'm using perfboard and need it to be very small basically the same width of the leds themselves. It will be running on 12v so I'm not sure if I can use that thread solder? I will add pictures in a minute to help you guys and gals see what I mean.

I just found "strip board" now could I use the strips on this kind of board to run all the negatives together and just break the connections in the copper strips?

Last edited:

sassyness77

Newly Enlightened
I hope this will help, I put these few together for a trial and test how bright they were but what is a much easier way to connect everything and keep it the slimmest possible?

IMG_20120210_232524.jpg
[/IMG]

IMG_20120210_232448.jpg
[/IMG]

IMG_20120210_232413.jpg
[/IMG]

pretmetled

Newly Enlightened
I was going to do some ascii art, but the helpful vb software keeps killing it. So fsck that.

Short version: if you want to prototype it, you may want to consider dead bug style. IMO perfboard is le suck, and in this application it's no exception. Normally it is signal integrity that's crap about perfboard, but in this case it's thermal conductivity that's crap about perfboard. ;) You can cut reasonly wide strips of copperclad, glue it to some backing material of your choice. For electronics I glue it on other copperclad to have a good groundplane, but for a simple led strip you could use whatever you have handy.