Are current Led lights considered pretty durable?

MrGatoMan

Newly Enlightened
Iv been a light junkie for quite a while but I'm only just now starting to learn in depth how they work. Please forgive me if this is a dumb question. The issue of durability with incan lights came from a jar or impact breaking the filament. Since there isnt a filament to break in LEDs the issue of something breaking isn't that much of a problem. So generally speaking most of the top LED light manufacturers I.E. (Fenix, 4Sevens, Sunwayman, Olight, Eagletac, ect.) make lights that can withstand a good deal of abuse. Is this a correct assumption? If this is a correct assumption, would it be safe to say that most lights from these manufacturers would be suitable for military, law enforcement or other industries requiring high durability? I ask this because I work in law enforcement and I really like the reasonable prices from the above manufacturers as well as the ability of many of their lights to use rechargeable lithium batteries.

awenta

Enlightened
Yes most of their lights are reasonably durable. If you want something bomb proof get an HDS or Surefire.

MrGatoMan

Newly Enlightened
So are most of the lights are suitable for mounting to rifles to use as weapon lights?

TEEJ

Flashaholic
Some are more optimized for it than others, based upon the form factors.

Some have a more floody beam, or, a tighter more concentrated beam - IE: The light essentially makes it so you've walked into a room with all the lights on at once...or puts a small hot circle on a target, but everything else is dark...or somewhere in between those extremes.

Some have bodies/form factors that are conducive to various rails to weapon mount them, double ended battery springs and/or other feature to absorb recoil, accessories for pressure switches to allow control w/o releasing the weapon, etc.