Whats the Difference in the Cree drop-in Modules or is there a Chart somewhere ??

globalmark

Newly Enlightened
Hi
I have search the forum but cannot find ?

I am very New at this - I have successfully Modded a Dive torch (just put a Cree R5 drop-in in it) - Because I read online you can do for that torch but did not understand why i used a R5 and other people use a R2 or Q5 ?
and I want to play around a bit , and have checked out Loads of Sites Deal extreme etc.

My Question - is there any side by side Chart or older forum answer or can someone explain the Differences between the Drop-in's
eg, R5, R2, Q5, XML, Q4, P7, T6, etc, etc
what do the letters and Numbers actually mean ?? is there any way to tell whats what ? as most seem to come with a 26.5mm reflector (but those can be changed )

Thanks Mark

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi
I have search the forum but cannot find ?

I am very New at this - I have successfully Modded a Dive torch (just put a Cree R5 drop-in in it) - Because I read online you can do for that torch but did not understand why i used a R5 and other people use a R2 or Q5 ?
and I want to play around a bit , and have checked out Loads of Sites Deal extreme etc.

My Question - is there any side by side Chart or older forum answer or can someone explain the Differences between the Drop-in's
eg, R5, R2, Q5, XML, Q4, P7, T6, etc, etc
what do the letters and Numbers actually mean ?? is there any way to tell whats what ? as most seem to come with a 26.5mm reflector (but those can be changed )

Thanks Mark
P7 is a Seoul Semiconductor LED type.
XML, XP-E, XR-E, XP-G, etc are cree LED types. The LED size and geometry affect how it will perform in a given reflector or optic. The short version; bigger= more output at a given power, less throw in a given optic.

Q2, Q3, Q4, Q5;
R2, R3, R4, R5;
S2;
T2, T3, T4, T5, T6;
U2, are cree brightness bins. 7% brighter each step. Read up on these, they're important for DIY projects.

yazovyet

Enlightened