Preflash explanations

salimoneus

Newly Enlightened
I recently got my hands on a 4Sevens Quark AA2 Tactical, which has two distinct programmed modes that it will remember. I am noticing a very distinct pre-flash when I turn on the light in the lower modes, especially moonlight mode. I called 4Sevens and spoke with someone that explained that the pre-flash is required in order to maintain efficiency and some other mumbo jumbo about the speed of light.

I'm no electrical engineer, but if you have a device with a memory that knows what mode it will be entering before the user turns it on, why in the world would you need to engage the device on full blast before switching to the correct mode? That just makes no logical sense to me. The explanations I have heard just sound like an excuse for a deficient design, so many programmed devices out in the world seem to do just fine turning themselves on in the correct mode to begin with.

Am I way off base here, or do many people give merit to the explanations given for why pre-flash exists?

shane45_1911

Enlightened
II called 4Sevens and spoke with someone that explained that the pre-flash is required in order to maintain efficiency and some other mumbo jumbo about the speed of light.

LOL. And this is yet another reason why 4sevens will never get another cent of my money. Although no other light (that I am aware of) exhibits this annoying and unecessary trait, 4sevens has made no effort to correct the issue for years and instead try to say it is a deliberate part of the design and intended function.

FAIL.

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast