new noob here, just have a questions~~

Raina

Newly Enlightened
hello, everyone. im Raina, the new around here. hope to get well a long with you guys:)

As this is my first time to log in the Candlepowerforums, actually i have a lot of questions, but its hard for me to look over all the threads.

so here is the first question:

Whats the advantages of the Led lights to normal lights???

I just noticed that there are a lot of guys talking about the LED light recently :)

I will appreciate for everyone's help :)

yifu

Enlightened
Well, LEDs are one of three main electric light sources, incan, HID(high intensity discharge) are the other two. LEDs used to be a novelty light source for backlighting until the development of the XR-E 7090 by Cree in 2007, and concurrently the development of the Luxeons by Philip. LEDs have progressed very fast over the past 5 years, now they are capable of 160 lumens/watt and over 4000 lumens in a single die chip. They are very suitable for use in flashlight applications because the Vf is reasonably low (no need for ballasts), the LEDs are physically small, efficient, power to LED can be varied and it will take PWM drive.

Incans are the other main light sources, you find this in those 2D maglites you have lying around. Often mistaken as dim but "hotwires" certainly are not. Development has stalled the past few decades but recently different halogen fill gases, infrared reflecting envelopes were developed.

HIDs are almost non-existant outside of CPF, but you can find them everywhere and they are the world's oldest electric light source (over 200 years old), from the high pressure sodium vapour lights used in street lighting to the massive floodlights you see in stadiums(some cpfers have those). They tend to have the most output and the most throw but are bulky.

Oh and welcome to cpf by the way!

RoGuE_StreaK

Enlightened