IR illuminator required

nobbybonez

Newly Enlightened
hi

i am requiring illumination for a night vision device, and have decided to use a led based light source. it will be weapon mounted.
my plan is to use something like the osram SFH4750 emitter as i'm pretty confident others have used this for the same purpose.
now, bear with me, i'm a right noob at all this, but i'll ask for your recommendations for a host, or if there is something that fits the criteria that available off the shelf, i'm cool with that too.
many thanks in advance for your help....

1) How would you prefer to purchase the light?

____I will be mail-ordering or buying online, so this doesn't matter.

2) Budget: An easy question, but you may change your mind after answering the rest! :)

____Less than $150.

3) Format:

____I want a flashlight.

4) Flashlight-specific format/size:

____Every day carry small (2-4 inches).
____Every day carry medium (4-7 inches).
25mm body tube would make life easier...

5) Emitter/Light source:

____LED (known for efficiency, longevity, and compactness)

6) Manufacturer:

__x__I want to buy a light from a traditional mass producing manufacturer that is ready to go out of the box.
___x_I would consider getting a light that is pieced together (for example a "host" or flashlight body from one manufacturer, and a "drop-in" emitter from another source). Under the right circumstances, this path can provide more options to the consumer to meet specific needs, and can often be easily upgradeable as technology improves.

either really, would prefer to make my own

7) What battery type do you want to use?

____I intend to use rechargeable lithium (li-ion) chemistry. Feel free to specify a size if you know which size you want (14500, RCR123/16340, 17500, 17670, 18650, etc.)
123's preferable

8) How much genuine out the front (OTF) light do you want/need? Sometimes you can have too much light (trying to read up close up with a 100 lumen light is impossible).