Patrolling a large warehouse/property - question on how to go about it

mauiblue

Newly Enlightened
Aloha to all. If this is the wrong forum for this question, I'm sure the mods will move it to the appropriate area. I've been doing security patrolling work for about three years now but mostly on small sites. A few months ago I've been assigned to a very large site that consists of about eight acres with two large warehouses which are about two and a half football fields long each. The warehouses are being renovated and there is no lights or power on the site. Most of the available light I can see is from street lights and parking lot lights. There are a few construction vehicles on the property, storage containers, gated storage areas, etc. all of which the boogie man or some homeless guy could be lurking.

I acquired a high powered flashlight (Nitecore Tiny Monster - 2000 lumens) to help me light my way and to see what's in the dark recesses of this huge cavern I stay in and about during my shift. I was wondering how do the experienced members that patrol large dark sites go about patrolling and observing with their flashlights? Do you do a sweeping motion side to side as you are walking along or do you light your way ahead with very little sweep? My torch throws a very wide and floody beam. Even so, I find myself sweeping side to side. I would appreciate it if others could share there own techniques on foot patrolling at night and help me develop my skills and confidence.

Just Jac

Newly Enlightened
If I were you I would strongly suggest that you carry a second "backup" light, just in case your "Tiny Monster" should ever happen to fail. :eek:

chmsam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Another STRONG suggestion for a backup light. Murphy's Law will bite you in the tush whenever it gets the chance.

I will say that I'm not in the business but some of my friends have been and for a very long time, so here are some basics you probably already know or should...