some noob ceiling bounce tests i did today

jmpaul320

Flashlight Enthusiast
well since i was bored and just got a cheap budget lightmeter this week:thumbsup:

measurements were taken 1 minute after turning each light on

dry 3xml 540 lux in same test:rock:
trustfire trj-12 5xml t6 -418lux
nitecore tm11 -354lux (on turbo mode)
jetbeam bc25 -125lux
vinh's xml p60 dropin -160lux

dry 3xml is in the mail along with my sr90, wonder how they will both compare

i think i need a tripod or something to measure accurately @1m etc.. i tried setting up my deerelight dbs-t aspherical and i could not hold it steady enough for an accurate reading

i did notice that measurements are extremely sensitive, if i moved a light an inch the readings would change, so i made sure to take them with the sensor and light tailstanding in the same spot

any tips from the pros for accurate readings ? lol

Last edited:

run4jc

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not a pro by ANY stretch, but I will offer you a couple of tidbits...

1 - CONGRATS on 'doing it yourself'...

2 - You might want to ensure that your light meter's sensor isn't 'seeing' the direct reflection from the hot spot.

It's fairly easy to make a home made sphere ....

jmpaul320

Flashlight Enthusiast
interesting... i have a suspicion that my wife will poo poo the idea of having a box like that floating around so... IM GOING TO MAKE ONE! lol

run4jc

Flashlight Enthusiast
All in the interest of science and learning...;)

I still use mine all the time....after over 2 years!

I've been married to the same girl for 24 years - by now she just grins and bears it! :thumbsup:

Mr Floppy

Flashlight Enthusiast
i think i need a tripod or something to measure accurately @1m etc..

Yep, a tripod or something to hold it for you is the best. That's what I use. I also use a tripod for the light meter too. I also have a reference point stuck on the ceiling and try to centre the hotspot as best as I can at it.