I Guess Lumen Specs Don't Tell the Whole Story

GPeaslee

Newly Enlightened
I am a flashlight novice, but I am confused when comparing 2 single AA flashlights I recently purchased:

1) 4Sevens Quark AA XP-G R5 edition - max lumens = 109
2) Eagle Tac D25A Clicky XM-L U2 Neutral White - max lumens = 160

With alkaline batteries, the Quark appears noticeably brighter than the D25A even though it should be the opposite based on the max lumens specs.
I see 2 differences that could account for this:

1) Cool white vs. Neutral white tint
2) Quark has a larger head diameter than the D25A

As a newbie, can someone explain the technical reasons for what I am seeing? Thanks.

RWD13

Newly Enlightened
Colour has an effect on our eyes and may seem as though one colour is brighter than another but also keep in mind some companies out there say their light is 850 lumens when it's actually 400. They also use candella or what not which is crap in my eyes.. Certain brands are correct with the lumen value and others are not. Although I won't speak for the two lights you mentioned only from my experience on others.

Last edited:

THE_dAY

Flashlight Enthusiast
Good points made above, I would also like to add:

Maybe you are comparing which light has a brighter spot?
This would be comparing lux (intesity) not brightness (overall lumens).
A simple way to compare overall brightness would be to do a ceiling bounce test.
Shine each light at the ceiling one at a time, preferably in a small room.
Then examine the surroundings not the spot on the ceiling.
How much the surroundings are illuminated will give you clearer picture of which light is brighter.

tjswarbrick

Enlightened
Try TD's trick.