noob with a Quark R5, issue

1095guy

Newly Enlightened
hi, i am new to forums in general so i apologize if i missed something. i am also new to quality flashlights, this Quark Regular R5 being my first. sparing the details, lets just say that i am THOROUGHLY displeased with the level of customer service from where i bought it from (online), i was about ready to ask for my money back but it had just been shipped out so whatever (this is relevant). so i receive the light and begin looking for even the smallest of scratches, metal filings, underwater stuff, looking for any reason to send it back, so......

to the point...

i was clicking and changing through the modes quite frantically, until my fingers hurt, and this is my problem, the clicking or depressing to change modes will fail
- i can replicate this, and the problem is remedied by removing/replacing the tail, opening/closing the body
- the problem seems to occur when the device warms up, (not HOT, but normal, as i am aware these things get hot)
- the problem will occur also when it's "cool"
- originally thought it was due to a dead battery
- it seems the problem is easier to replicate with a dead battery, but it will malfunction with a full battery
- sometimes i will press (not click) the button and it will hesitate changing modes

i just got it late yesterday so i'm still screwing with it but i was wondering if anyone on here has had any similar issues. the issue seems sporadic and i've gone through 3 batteries (all alkaline) so it might be them, i'm going to have to pick up a voltmeter after work because i've been using my mouse to tell me if the batteries are dead or not:duh2:. aside from that i'm just looking for opinions on what i should do, i love the flashlight and don't really want to send it back if i don't have to.