Is it commom if the flashlight body becomes hot with switch on.

busycokos

Banned
Im new to cpf ,heard this is a good forum for flashlights discussions, i bought a flashlight a few days ago , when the flashlight is open and been a few hours ,the flashlight body becomes hot ,im wondering why and is it good or bad to become hot on the flashlight body ?? i need technical answers ,i hope yall can help me.thanks a lot :kiss:

TooManyGizmos

Flashlight Enthusiast
~

HI ! busycokos ...... and WELCOME to ya !

I assume this is an LED light ... so yes , that is good for it to do that . It's best that you hold it in your hand , so your hand absorbs some of the heat . It means that it has a good "Heat Sink" that is wicking away some of the heat from the LED , so it does not become too hot. If you DON't hold it in your hand while it is ON ... it may become TOO hot ... and cause damage to the LED emitter .

(Server went down ...... continuation ......)

If it becomes too hot to hold in your hand , then it's getting too hot for the LED to survive . Be sure you are running the correct batteries in it . Don't use rechargeable Lithium Ion's if they are not approved for the light .

~

Last edited:

busycokos

Banned
~

HI ! busycokos ...... and WELCOME to ya !

I assume this is an LED light ... so yes , that is good for it to do that . It's best that you hold it in your hand , so your hand absorbs some of the heat . It means that it has a good "Heat Sink" that is wicking away some of the heat from the LED , so it does not become too hot. If you DON't hold it in your hand while it is ON ... it may become TOO hot ... and cause damage to the LED emitter .

thank you so much TooManyGizmos ,your illustration is useful to me , at first i just afraid it too hot,buring hot lol yes I leave it alone open on the table.

chmsam

Flashlight Enthusiast
All LED's will produce some heat and the more powerful ones will produce a lot. They will get hotter the longer they are left on.