Rough decisions & no experience

JoshY

Newly Enlightened
Greetings, I'm a newbie here but have been looking around and attempting to research the various flashlights available. I've taken a keen liking to surefire lights, however I'm a cheap ******* and refuse to constantly pay for batteries.

I plan on buying two lights (at least right now /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif), one for general purpose carry on and random odd jobs/work, and one purely for my truck. They both need to be rechargable in some fashion or other.

I would like the C3 due to it's lumen rating and runtime, but can't recharge. The E2e looks sexy as hell for it's lumen rating and runtime but again, batteries are the death of me. I don't particularly like the design of lights like the Z2. They seem overly cumbersome, if I do at all I will be shooting not very often with these lights. I have looked at some conversions but really don't know the full extent of them and what could be made to be rechargable.

As it is, I suppose I am stuck with either the C2 or 6P. Thoughts, additions, suggestions, reccomendations?

For my car, I'm nearly completely clueless. It needs to have a decent throw (I'm not some spec op or something though taking people down) but more importantly have a decent runtime if poop hits the fan and I need to see in the middle of the night for more than 20 minutes. Some of the surefire lights look nice, but I'm not sure if they would be best for this application. I looked at the "SS" (I believe it is) but in general have heard of too many random problems with bulbs, etc. This is going in a truck, not a street queen vehicle /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif. The 10x is flat out too damn expensive for what little use it likely would be getting.

Lastly, if anyone still reading this god awful post -- what's a good reference for lumens in say terms of 20 lumens to 60 to 100. Is the scale linear, or exponential..? How would it compare to the typical 4D maglite.