6P Lego'ing Question

MagicDot

Newly Enlightened
I've been reading and reading and searching.. I'm still lost. So I'll just flat out ask:

I want to lego a Surefire 6p.. I've been to Overyready's site a bunch of times.. ..put things in and out of the basket.. come back here, read more, and in the long run? I'm still confused.. in fact, so confused I just went out and ordered a Sunwayman v20c figuring it was my better option, but I still have this surefire bug from back in the day when I carried a incan 6p until someone swiped it from me..

Here's my question: WHAT do I need to change to get a P60 LED drop in to have multiple levels?? Is it JUST the drop in? Or do I also need to get a McClicky switch? Or what? I want a 6p bored to accept the 18650's.. it HAS to be rechargeable. It HAS to have at least a low/high selection also. I'm an electrician but I'm not sure what all these numbers mean when I look at posts regarding the drop in's, their voltages, and what not. (Maybe I'm just not a very GOOD electrician, but that idea would break my heart.. :-( ) When lego'ing from Overyready's site, there are a bunch of different options, too. Do I need a lens with these drop ins or are they sealed with their own lens?

But my biggest question is: What makes a single stage light, such as the 6p able to have a multi-level LED? I also see switches with resistors being thrown around.. is that what I need for multiple levels or are all the "brains" in the drop in? Will the 6p's regular switch engage multiple levels? Do the switches with "brains" just lessen the resistance and thus allow longer run times?

..anyway. I really have my heart set on a Surefire. I like all the options out there, but maybe it's the OVER-wealth of information and I can't break through it all.

run4jc

Flashlight Enthusiast