I didn't have a clue? How did you get hooked?

thaglyde

Newly Enlightened
As a kid in the 80s I was into trading cards and I could tell you anything about one. I studied beckett mags religiously waiting on my chance to land my big score. Then I went to r/c cars but realized quickly that I was out of my league and I couldn't handle the prices. It seemed like I couldn't wash enough cars or cut enough yards to get a competition r/c.
In my adult life I went to harleys, watches, knives, cafe bikes, but never ever did I think I would get into flashlights. My general goal is to limit my mistakes in my purchases. I want quality and the most bang for your buck. I have achieved that with harleys but def not with flashlights. I'm still a novice at this point but its interesting and I like its utilitarianism.

How did you get into flashlights?

moozooh

Enlightened
My old lights were bad and insufficient for the purposes, so I started looking for better ones.

thaglyde

Newly Enlightened
I guess the internet and forums like this speeds up the learning curve a lot when it comes to specialized instruments.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Somehow I came across the name Surefire, probably through Popular Science, and decided to see what all the fuss was about. This eventually lead me to here, and I now I've been hooked for a few years.

I don;t buy much, but I like reading reviews. Computers are the same to me. I don't buy much, but I love to learn about the latest and greatest, along with the best bang for the buck.

cland72

Flashlight Enthusiast
I started out looking for a weapon mountable light so I purchased a G2 from my local outdoor store (around 2005). Then a friend gave me a 6P for helping him with something and I was amazed with the build quality.

Then I bought P60L drop ins to replace the incan P60s, then found Malkoff, then found CPF, and now I have tied up entirely too much money in lights :thumbsup: