Philosophical Musings Ch.1: Throw

Ginseng

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been cruising these boards for some 7 months now and my perspective on illumination and lighting tools has changed dramatically over this time. One subject that is discussed often and usually with reverence is "the long throw." Lights are often judged by how well they illuminate compact regions at a great distance. When one reflects upon this, however, the concept of "long throw" (LT) becomes more and more abstracted from reality. It becomes a superlative with no other function than its own existence.

Why do I say this? In martial arts as in other realms of managed conflict, the concept of zone of action or potential influence is integral. That is, threat level varies as a function of distance of separation. This extends beyond just threat level to general ability to "affect." In light of this, lighting that extends beyond say 20' is of no greater value than lighting that extends only to 20' if that is the range of your personal protective space (PPS). Now granted, the PPS in reality does not have a rigid cutoff. It has a fuzzy, fluctuating border that adapts to the situation but I can think of no realistic cases where it extends out to 300'.

But one might argue that attention also varies as a function of distance. That is, a rowdy group may only merit scant attention if at the other end of the block but you may scan and notice features, details, sounds, movement and other information if you must walk by them at close range, just to be safe. So by extension, if one hears noise in the far distance, then it would be useful to be able to see that far to determine the appropriate attention level. But this doesn't explain why many of us who live and function in generally low threat-level environments would then need such range.