18650 and 14500 lumen outputs

Chicken Drumstick

Flashlight Enthusiast
Despite the title this isn't directly a battery question exactly, hence posting here.

I'm fairly new to the "premium" flashlight world and enjoying it a lot :thumbsup: But one thing I've noticed is, a lot of 1 x 14500 (and sometimes even 1 x RCR lights) will put out HUGE lumen ratings. Yet the 18650 variant in the same range, while impressive often lags with light output.

e.g.

A Xeno EO3 will put out 400+ lumens on a 14500, while the newer Xeno S3A running an 18650 only puts out 300 lumens. :shrug:

Is there a reason to this? I've seen similar from several different flashlight makers and model line ups.

Overclocker

Flashlight Enthusiast
xeno e03 doesn't really support 14500. all levels get jacked up so you lose the low. it's an AA light that gets OVERDRIVEN when using 14500

for an example of a light that has PROPER support for 14500 take a look at the Foursevens Quarks. fully regulated even on 14500. no overheating :)

Joe Talmadge

Flashlight Enthusiast
I agree with the OP that there's some goofiness going on -- or maybe something perfectly rational, that I still haven't heard a good explanation for. Look at the Jetbeam PC10 vs PC20 -- 20% more output on one 123-sized cell as on two. The light with a lot more metal and twice as many cells is 20% *less* bright?!?!

I don't even buy the explanation above on the EO3 vs S3A. Oh, I get it that the E03 was not really "meant" for 14500. But the fact that people aren't burning out their E03s left and right means that the much bigger heat sync from an 18650-sized package should also be able to support more output. Yes, ok, maybe the output of E03 on high is a bit reckless, and even a "properly designed" 18650 in a really small package shouldn't be quite so much -- but I have an incredibly hard time believing it could only support 300 lumens.