TR-J18 8500 lm disappointment

Ozzy1981

Newly Enlightened
Hi im fairly new to the flashlight seen but have found my self engrossed looking for hours on ebay and at builds and mods. Im a game-hawker and love hunting at night with my bird, so this is just an extension of a hobby, well thats what i tell the wife and im sticking by it LOL !! i purchased two lights recently, a small pocket size zoomey running on a single 18650 with one xm-l-t6 and supposedly 1600lm which im very happy with for the size and price.

577758696_o.jpg
shot_1340533633413.jpg

My second purchase after seeing what one xm-lt6 could do was The Trustfire TR-J18 that has seven and boasting 8500lm when i got it i quickly went out that night taking both to test run. The single zoomey has just as much a throw as the TR-J18 i was not expecting this, and the beam angle is as wide it just floods the hole place in front of you, and to be honest dosent seem to be that much brighter maybe 3 times as bright.
I need a light with plenty of throw and a good balance of flood, so my Hawk has the confidence to fly.
I ran it with 3 18650's would the 26650's be a better battery for it ???
Also is there away of tightening the beam for more throw ??? maybe using an aspherical lense like the small zoomey ??? if so any suggestions on how to do this would be of great help!!
Or am i best returning the light for something else ???

mvyrmnd

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:

Using an aspheric lens on a multi-emitter light like this will result only in a "disco-ball" effect.

There's no useful way of improving the throw of these lights, except for boosting the output.

The TR-J18 only outputs 3000-3200 lumens in stock form (welcome to the world of "marketing lumens"). You can push it harder with a driver upgrade, if you're handy with a soldering iron.

26650's will definitely be a better option.

The other thing for you to read up on is the difference between lumens and lux.