Proper mounting of LEDs onto the MCPCB solder pads

jcalvert

Enlightened
SMT newbie here, so I need a little help please!

I'm ready to mount a Nichia 219 to new XP-G MCPCB as part of my first ever P60 drop-in build. Other than reading, watching YouTube videos, and asking countless questions of some very generous members over the past several months, I have no other education, and certainly no practical experience in electronics, micro-circuitry, or SMT/SMD technology. However, a very particular question came to mind about the application of the solder paste.

I plan on applying a strip of solder paste inline with the anode, cathode, & thermal pads on the MCPCB. But I just saw a YouTube demonstration by Cutter of reflowing an LED, after applying a single, perpendicular strip of paste across all three pads. Can I assume the reason for that is that they know the solder mask on the PCB is sufficient to draw the paste into each pad, thus avoiding "bridging?

Curiously, if two or all pads were inadvertently bridged, what would happen to the emitter and PCB?

Thanks all!
John

Edit: Btw, I came across an interesting article about multi-LED PCB solder pads. Click here.

Last edited:

jcalvert

Enlightened
As long as you don't put too much.
Nothing would happen they'd just be bridged.
If you tried to use it you'll just get a short circuit.

You don't have to put past horizontally though.
http://www.youtube.com/user/digikey?v=QRW4gBcsRkY&feature=pyv&ad=5942790449&kw=soldering

Thank you hk! It's good to know that if an error is made with too much paste, then the emitter & board will still be fine.

In order help me control the amount dispensed, when I bought the paste, I picked up a few of these 25 gauge tips for the syringe. I also picked up a bunch of small cc syringes from the local Rite-Aid pharmacy and put small amounts of paste in a few of them to keep on the bench, while putting the remainder in the fridge until needed.