Mac's Customs Ti Tri EDC - Another Ideal EDC - An [Essay]

nbp

Flashaholic
The Why:

If you have read my Haiku essay, you know I love love my XP-G Haiku. See my sigline if you haven't. Actually, you should read that before you read this one as I refer to it a lot, and have left out some details here that were already covered there in the interest of brevity. I was hoping to keep this one a bit shorter and less flowery. I hope that it is ok, and that those who liked the other one will still find this essay thingy satisfying. ;)

I have been EDCing the Haiku for 16 months, and consider it one of the greatest EDC lights ever made. Recently, I began hankering for a HI CRI light to supplement it in my EDC kit. I thought about another Haiku with Nichia 119 after borrowing one from a friend, or putting a 119 LE in the Mule I had been carrying with my Haiku most of that time. I like carrying one 'thrower' and one 'flooder' together to use in various circumstances. Another Haiku would mean two throwers; no good. Wasn't sure if I wanted to swap engines around in the Mule. Borrowed a SunDrop from another member but the beam wasn't quite what I wanted. Whatever I got, it was to have a big, smooth, floody beam, it had to be titanium and have a good clip and preferably 1x123 sized.

I had been eyeing up Mac's Customs for a bit, but wasn't sure if I wanted one. I looked at some Tri EDC beamshots, and they seemed to be what I was after. Getting a unit from Mac looked like a pain in the butt, so I watched the Custom BST. A friend tipped me off to a Ti Tri that had popped up, so I bought it. A cool tint XP-G, old version Lux RC board equipped unit. (More on that later.)

The Ti Tri EDC

Ok, so this light arrives, and of course, I am skeptical about it and think there is no way that it is as good as the Haiku. But over time, I have used it quite a bit as an EDC in combo with the Haiku, and generated some thoughts and opinions on it.