Klarus        
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Jetbeam switch acting up!

  1. #1
    Flashaholic Megatrowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    435

    Unhappy Jetbeam switch acting up!

    So I have a RRT-0 I have been EDCing for at least a year. It has been a wonderful light and until now has given me no problems. But just last night I noticed this. As I press the switch (past the point of clicking, kinda like "bottoming it out") it gets brighter! Then when I let go of the switch, it dims down again! What gives?

    This is especially noticeable when using a Enloop. Still does it on a cr123, but not as noticeable. Is it time for a new switch? Note: both batt were good when this happened. Wasn't a lo batt.

    Also, while I'm asking, this light has always flickered ever so slightly while on whenever I used a rechargeable LiOn (not on primaries). Anyone know why?

    Thanks,
    Austin

    Edit: if this is a sw prob., how do I get it out?
    Welcome to the Dark Side! Which just also happens to be the Light Side.

  2. #2
    Flashaholic Megatrowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    435

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Any ideas anyone?
    Welcome to the Dark Side! Which just also happens to be the Light Side.

  3. #3
    Flashaholic* skyfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,824

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    i think ive experienced a similar problem with an older rtt-0 r2 version.
    when i click it, it comes on, but when i release the switch the light flickers and dies...

    i realized i had to tightened the bezel more, so it could be the contact points? try cleaning it up, and make sure the bezel is tightened up well.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    When you've isolated the switch as a culprit, you can try to apply some contact cleaner for fine electronics inside the switch, and do some clicking afterwards (battery removed first). Quality contact cleaners are plastic & rubber-friendly. (Never use WD40 or similar!!!)

    And, just in case, order the new switch. Jetbeam ones are notorious for their short lifespan.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Flashaholic* SimulatedZero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    SouthEast, USA
    Posts
    569

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    I will agree that Jetbeam has some dodgey switches in their line up but, I don't think that's the problem here. I had the exact same issue with another light of mine and found that the retaining was loose, again... You can, and should, clean your switch for maintenance purposes but, I think that tightening the retaining ring will solve all of your problems.
    "Maybe you should just stick to fire on a stick... it's received excellent reviews here - plus it's a time tested design..."

  6. #6
    Flashaholic Megatrowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    435

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Quote Originally Posted by SimulatedZero View Post
    tightening the retaining ring will solve all of your problems.
    Do you mean for the switch? I've been wondering how to get it out...
    Welcome to the Dark Side! Which just also happens to be the Light Side.

  7. #7
    Flashaholic Megatrowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    435

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Thanks for all the replies
    Welcome to the Dark Side! Which just also happens to be the Light Side.

  8. #8
    Flashaholic* SimulatedZero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    SouthEast, USA
    Posts
    569

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Quote Originally Posted by Megatrowned View Post
    Do you mean for the switch? I've been wondering how to get it out...
    The easiest way I found is to use a pair of needle nose pliers that has fairly thin tips so they fit in the notches inside your tailcap. I don't know whether or not JetBeam uses reversed threading on their switches so just use trial and error to figure out which way it tightens and loosens. If you don't have a pair of needle nose pliers that will fit, you can always use a fork and bend the prongs until you get the shape you need. Just tighten the ring down until you can't turn it anymore and that should solve any connection issues that you've been having. Also, if you want to take the switch out and clean everything down and put it back together, that would be helpful too.

    Oh, and if you decide to use a fork, use one hat you won't get in trouble for bending. Your wife/girlfriend might have a thing or two to say about the re-purposing of her silverware
    Last edited by SimulatedZero; 10-25-2012 at 07:22 AM. Reason: So many typo's, I really need to not post while at work in the middle of the night
    "Maybe you should just stick to fire on a stick... it's received excellent reviews here - plus it's a time tested design..."

  9. #9
    Flashaholic Megatrowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    435

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Thanks for the info. Going to try this. And our silverware is only a wedding gift, no harm in using that, right?
    Welcome to the Dark Side! Which just also happens to be the Light Side.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    863

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Quote Originally Posted by Megatrowned View Post
    And our silverware is only a wedding gift, no harm in using that, right?
    No harm at all!
    Just tell your wife it's an important task as fixing a flashlight.
    She will understand. (or not)

  11. #11
    Flashaholic Megatrowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    435

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Ok, so I found a pair of tiny needle nose pliers. The silverware has been spared, this time... Jetbeam has some wierd curved notches on the retaining ring around the tail cap (they must have a special tool for this). With much pressure and force, it came off!

    I removed the switch, and the more I looked at it, the more it reminded me of a McClickie. So I borrowed one from another light, and...I fits! Perfectly! Going to be ordering one for this light.

    Thanks all
    Welcome to the Dark Side! Which just also happens to be the Light Side.

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Maryland, Near DC, USA
    Posts
    6,624

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Sounds like the switch was just loose. If you look at the design of the switch, when you press down on it, you also press the metal contact against the inside of the battery tube. When you release, it can lose contact if it isn't tightened properly.

    By the way, tightening the retaining ring does nothing to secure the switch itself. The retaining ring only secures the silicone cover. The switch must be tightened separately.

  13. #13
    Flashaholic* SimulatedZero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    SouthEast, USA
    Posts
    569

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Quote Originally Posted by fyrstormer View Post
    Sounds like the switch was just loose. If you look at the design of the switch, when you press down on it, you also press the metal contact against the inside of the battery tube. When you release, it can lose contact if it isn't tightened properly.

    By the way, tightening the retaining ring does nothing to secure the switch itself. The retaining ring only secures the silicone cover. The switch must be tightened separately.
    In my experience, I have found that tightening the retaining ring fixes what ever contact issues I was having with the switch.


    I removed the switch, and the more I looked at it, the more it reminded me of a McClickie. So I borrowed one from another light, and...I fits! Perfectly! Going to be ordering one for this light.

    Thanks all
    No problem at all Megatrowned, hope everything works out well with the new switch.
    "Maybe you should just stick to fire on a stick... it's received excellent reviews here - plus it's a time tested design..."

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Maryland, Near DC, USA
    Posts
    6,624

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Tightening the retaining ring will press the switch into place if it is very slightly loose, but that's all. If this is something you have to do from time to time, removing the retaining ring and tightening the switch itself should put a stop to the problem for much longer.

  15. #15
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sitting' on the dock o' The Bay...
    Posts
    2,291

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Quote Originally Posted by Megatrowned View Post
    I removed the switch, and the more I looked at it, the more it reminded me of a McClickie. So I borrowed one from another light, and...I fits! Perfectly! Going to be ordering one for this light.
    Have you seen this thread?

  16. #16
    Flashaholic Megatrowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    435

    Default Re: Jetbeam switch acting up!

    Thanks for the link. Since a McClickie fits, I'm just going to stick one in. Really can't top it (a "silent" version would be cool though). Plus, telling a non-flashaholic that it has a "McClickie" in it just sounds cool
    Welcome to the Dark Side! Which just also happens to be the Light Side.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •