Dorcy

cruzer

Newly Enlightened
I searched and only found the thread about dorcy donating lights to hurricane sandy victims or whatever.

Anyone know if they are true to their specs?
Are they overpriced ?
quality or junk?

i have this light
http://www.dorcy.com/p-361-41-2510-incredible-floating-flashlight.aspx

Im a noob but the specs seem about right. It's a little brighter than low on other lights I have and u can't see very far with it. I've dropped it 5+ times with no problems. I watched a video of it in the sink it floated and he put it under water it stayed on. He turned off and on couple times no problems.
Pretty good for $8 lilight

i got it for work light in garage for when I work on stuff. Had about 6 months original batteries. Without pics or video it hasn't appeared to loose brightness as batteries die

just wondered if their more expensive lights would be worth anything. Like my dad wants a cheap spotlight, they have one but no idea if I should recommend

thanks

violatorjf

Newly Enlightened
The light you're talking about has a very good customer rating. For the price you get a decent amount of light for an extended period of time that will float if dropped in water. If your dad wants a cheap spotlight I would suggest one of the LED versions of the Stanley / Black & Decker which should be available at most of your big box stores.

cruzer

Newly Enlightened
Well this is kinda why I'm asking about dorcy. If their numbers are true and description as well then in my noob opinion it's better than say a Stanley.

$46 Stanley says 1 hour run time. Battery lasts 1 year. It does claim 250-300 more lumen and I didn't see a distance
$43 dorcy says 2.5 hour run time. Battery protection to not drain battery too far allowing it to last years. 500ft distance

but that's why I'm here I don't know so I'm asking and discussing

thoughts?
thanks

violatorjf

Newly Enlightened